The Troupe
This drummer's journey with other drummers.

Oh Yeah, The Blog!

This is a bit strange, and part of the pitfalls about being a hobbyist in one field, and a working artist in another.

The first thing that happens is you find that you need to spend a lot of your time at your work.  In my case, I am happy to say, that work is percussion.

The second thing that happens is you have a series of gigs, rehearsals, practices, classes, tours, and so on that basically cause you to say, “I will spend some time on my hobby tomorrow.”

And, it turns out for those of you who don’t already know this, three and a half years go by where you simply forget to check on that little blog you had been working on.

Sorry about that.

So, what woke me up was basically a student of mine asking, “Hey, have you seen that blog by Threewinds about drumming?”

I chuckled and said, “Sure.  That is the blog I used to fiddle around with.”

There was a silence in my classroom.  A really hushed and almost sullen pause.  Almost horror movie creepy, honestly.

And then, a cacophony of, “I love that blog!”,  and, “That is why I am taking classes!”, and, “WHY DID YOU STOP?!?”

And it was my turn to have that moment of uncomfortable silence.

Well, you see, I made this album, and got really, REALLY busy with drumming, and one thing lead to another and… and… and…

So I looked it up, to see what was going on with it, and to revisit the articles.

And I was stunned to find that, during the three and a half years I put it on the eshelf to collect edust, 45,000+ people have visited it, read the articles, and apparently enjoyed it.

I had a backlog of 600 comments, and only about half were spam.

Um…  WOW.

In my wildest dreams it simply never occurred to me that it would be seen by ANYONE, at all.

But then my wife, partner, and friend said, “You are reaching more people with that blog than you ever can in your classes.  The world needs more drummers, right?”

So, to all those who subscribed (holy cats, people subscribed!), to all those who check in from time to time, I must sincerely and humbly apologize.

I will actually make time, I will try to put up at least a post a week, and I will be FAR more diligent answering comments and questions.

The short answers are:

Yes, I am still drumming.

Yes, there is an album.

Yes, I will be posting more about rhythms, drums, history, and performing.

And yes, THANK YOU to all who have read these posts, and to all who have come back despite the neglect of the author.

2 Responses to “Oh Yeah, The Blog!”

  1. Hey–this is fun! Great to have you back online, you wild drummer you!


Leave a Reply

