The Troupe
This drummer's journey with other drummers.

Daily Exercise is Good for the Groove

Exercises are intended to build physical stamina and mental confidence.

For me, an Exercise is an almost Zen approach to non-specific elements of drumming. I will be the first to admit that there is some cross-over between all these ideas, and that from time to time you might use your Drills as an Exercise, and that is completely fine.

Typically I use Exercises to develop physical and mental stamina, which allows me to perform my style of percussion, which is live performance in a festival setting. I tend to sit down, and drum for various groups of performers, one set after another, for anywhere between one to three hours. There are often, but not always, short breaks between sets. Usually just long enough for the announcer or host to introduce the next group, and then back to playing.

This requires a lot of preparation, and Exercises allow me to perform without worry of faltering physically, or mentally.

Here is an example of an exercise that I use, which takes a base rhythm, and removes a full count, going from a 9 count, down to 8, and so on, until we get to a 5 count.

I go through each count for thirty-two repetitions, and then go immediately to the next count in the exercise, again for thirty-two repetitions. When I get to the “bottom” of the Exercise I immediately reverse it, and start adding full counts, until I get back to the start.

I keep the same tempo on the metronome.

You can create a lot of variations of this sort of exercise by varying tempo, or by changing the way you are performing your secondary counting.

As always: Enjoy!

 

Exercise Rhythm in (9/4)

1

&

2

&

3

&

4

&

5

&

D

T

D

T

T

D

T

6

&

7

&

8

&

9

&

T

D

T

D

T

Exercise Rhythm in (8/4)

1

&

2

&

3

&

4

&

D

T

D

T

T

D

5

&

6

&

7

&

8

&

T

T

D

T

D

 

Exercise Rhythm in (7/4)

1

&

2

&

3

&

4

&

D

T

D

T

T

D

5

&

6

&

7

&

T

T

D

T

 

 

Exercise Rhythm in (6/4)

1

&

2

&

3

&

4

&

5

&

6

&

D

T

D

T

T

D

T

T

D

 

Exercise Rhythm in (5/4)

1

&

2

&

3

&

4

&

5

&

D

T

D

T

T

D

T

(My apologies, the formatting on the graphs requires me to split them up.  I have tried to correct for typos, but can do nothing about the way it causes different sized boxes…)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No Responses to “Daily Exercise is Good for the Groove”

Leave a Reply

